Arowana does not want to eat

Jay1160

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Apr 21, 2020
I have 19 inch arowana. He was eating Hikari pellets for 3 months straight. Then he just stopped. I would feed him once a day between 18-20 pellets. He fasted for about 10 days then refuses to eat pellets. I tried shrimp, he would eat only 1, then the next day he wouldn’t. I tried crickets, he ate 2 and then he would ignore it. I tried dried krill, ate one, then doesn’t eat. Is there something wrong with him? He still poops. Colors change with what he eats. They are all thick so I don’t think there’s a parasite. May I please get some assistance?

He’s in a 6ft, 180 gallon tank by himself. The water parameters:
Ammonia - 0 ppm
Nitrite - 0 ppm
Nitrate - ~2.0 ppm
Water temp: 80f
Filter is a FX6 with 2.3lbs of biomax media
One, twin wave maker
One 500 watt heater

Flowerhorn Gal_AL

Jack Dempsey
MFK Member
Mar 8, 2020
Hi!
I may be out of line. I hope not, so don't think I 'm being a wiseacre. I am very new to the fishkeeping venue, but the big thing I've seen that everyone can agree on is providing enough space for our fish. That's why I'll be putting up a 300G stock tank for my goldfish. My 55G is 4 feet, so 2 more for a 19" fish doesn't seem that much .
I know things are rough right now, but from what your post says, you're willing to provide the best for your Arowana. (I'd love to see a picture! Just read a book about the world's most coveted fish.) I know it's just one fish, but have you considered a bigger tank?
Any fish that's 19" long may just need more space. Think of it like this: he's 1 foot & 7 inches long. He needs over 3 feet on any side (or more) just to turn around. I know people build tanks & buy them used sometimes. I think I've seen an Arowana (1) in a 350 or a 700G tank & I don't think it's 19". Futhermore, all the parameters & equipment is great.