New 180G Build

stiker

Blue Tier VIP
MFK Member
Jun 9, 2014
Hello,
I am going to be rescaping and changing the fish around in my 180G tank (6x2x2ft with a 4ft sump). I am new to a planted tank so don't have a lot of knowledge when it comes to it but I have extensive knowledge in regards to fish keeping.

The big part of it which I guess will affect other decisions is that of my stocking which I would like to include the following fish, some of which is already have growing out in a 4ft tank:
10 Geophagus Tapajos sp. Red Head (Currently around 2 inches max) (I may reduce the school as they grow out)
4-6 Keyhole Cichlids (Not 100% sure on numbers, I have 2 growing out with my Geophagus)
Dianema Catfish group OR a school of Corydoras (not sure of what species or numbers)
Either Peppermint Bristlenose catfish or Whiptail Catfish or possibly a mix of the two (not sure of what species or numbers)
Lemon Tetras (not sure on numbers)
If anyone has any suggestions on stocking that would be greatly appreciated. Do keep in mind I plan to keep it fish from South America.

The big part for me is that I would love to include the Geophagus in this tank. My concern though is them uprooting plants. I hope that I am able to make this work and create a heavily planted tank in the long run I have read you can put some small rocks/stones around the base of the plant until they get their root system well established.