Oscars vs. African Cichlids

pistonville

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Sep 14, 2015
I just bought a 125 gallon fish tank with the intent of getting 3-4 Oscars, but my wife wants me to put more fish in the tank. I have heard that African Cichlids are generally smaller than Oscars. If this is true, about how many African Cichlids can I put in a 125 gallon tank? Also, are they as aggressive as Oscars? I was planning feeding Oscars live feeders 2-4 times a month. Will most African Cichlids eat live feeders too? As you can see, I'm new to Cichlids. Thanks in advance for any help.

lekkiandgas

Candiru
MFK Member
Aug 31, 2015
hertfordshire, england
i personally wouldnt really mix sa with African cos a like hard water and sa like soft water
not saying it couldn't be done though
Africans might not be big enough to eat live
African can reach 6in with Oscars reaching 12 inch +
there wouldn't be much room with say 30 Africans but then 3-4 o's wouldn't fit?

ehh

Blue Tier VIP
MFK Member
Aug 30, 2013
New Mexico
You can put a ton of Africans in a 125. I'd say around 50 mbuna. But you need to look into what Africans you want. There is no reason to feed Africans "feeders". There are some Africans that you can make sick from feeding them feeders.
Just don't feed fish feeders unless they're considered "predators" and they are refusing prepared food.

Reactions: tlindsey

chopsteeks

Plecostomus
MFK Member
Jun 2, 2013
Denver
Regardless of which fish, do a bit more research on compatibility, feeding, water requirements. African Cichlids stocking is a challenging task due mainly to the diversity of selection plus feeding requirements. One of the most difficult tasks in my opinion is dealing with aggression. It is quite common in the hobby that one can lose all the fish due to aggression.

So do some googling if you decide to go with African Cichlids.

As for me, I will discourage you from mixing Oscars with Africans.

duanes

MFK Moderators
Staff member
MFK Member
Jun 7, 2007