Please help!!!!!!

Guppy 1230

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Apr 8, 2023
Not bashing or attack. Critical advice can come across like an attack, but I assure you I have no ill will towards you at all.
What type filtration do you use?
In your first post you stated you “recently “ add these fish, going by that and what I see in the pictures it looks like this tank could not handle the bioload and you’ve had an ammonia spike.
You didn’t post any test results.
Did you test during this process?
Testing would have given you critical information as to what was happening to the water quality.
Also while it is true plants can help with ammonia and nitrate build up. What you have in this tank is very sparse. It would take the tank being very densely planted to see any real up take compared to what the fish can produce.
It has the under gravel filter, which I have never used before. I normally do sponge filters, I was worried about the ammonia when we added the killifish. It definitely cycled between putting the killifish in and two days ago. One of the balas had what almost looked like fin rot by its eye before they died.
I haven’t tested but probably should.
I moved the eel into a QT tank and had no luck, he passed sadly. My confusion is why was it only those fish? The spiny is fine and so are the killifish and the tetras.
I definitely wouldn’t consider it densely planted but I’d say about half of the back of the tank has plants.
Also I feel like it’s worth mentioning that one of the spineys has disappeared completely within he last two weeks. I’m not sure if he burrowed and couldn’t get out but there have been no remains or any evidence of him in the tank so I don’t know if maybe that added to the ammonia or not either.

neutrino

Goliath Tigerfish
MFK Member
Jan 22, 2013
Mid-Atlantic, US