Question regarding Senegal bichirs

Rhovann

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Apr 23, 2018
Hey guys this is my first time posting and I have been looking for answer to this and i cannot find one. I am relatively new to aquariums and bichirs. So I will just get into it. i have a 55g tank and put a bichir i got from petsmart in there about 3 months ago. along with it went a female paradise fish, a three-spot gourami(i think female), and a birstlenose pleco which i read were okay to go with bichirs. everything was going great by bichir was out and pretty active. fast forward to 2 weeks ago. i decided to get him a buddy and i got an albino to go with him. the albino is smaller than he was but after adding the albino it changed the how he acted. they both hide while the lights on and do not come out. they still eat and come out once the lights go out. i would not be concerned except for one thing as i understand things can change except it appears that they are both looking like they are breathing heavy and i have no idea why. I just need to know if i should be concerned about it or just let it be.
my water parameters are ammonia - 0, nitrite - 0 nitrates - 10 ph - 7.4

oh and i have not seen any aggression to any fish that is to say i do not know what happens once i go to bed.

tlindsey

Silver Tier VIP
MFK Member
Aug 6, 2011
Ohio