advice needed for 390 gallon canister setup

sneakhedkeepa

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Feb 19, 2021
Hi fellow friends MFK.

newbie here first time owner of large tank and prefer canisters over sump.
Tank setup for 2 snakeheads.
7ft x 3 x 2.5 that is approximately 393 gallons or 1500 liters. Will 2 eheim xl canisters be enough for beneficial bacteria growth and full cycle ? One canister on each side. 3500 l/hr on each side.
Is it ok if I don’t fill tank water to the top but maybe 3 quarters or a little more so is less then 1500 liters.
2 canisters and 3500 l/hr on each side, is it enough for good beneficial bacteria growth and a full cycle for a healthy tank ?

Toby_H

Polypterus
MFK Member
Jun 21, 2007
Charlotte, NC
I've never had a tank that didn't have enough "Bio Media" / Surface Area to host the necessary amount of bacteria. So while I am not discouraging the use of bio media, I wouldn't worry about having enough. You'll have enough no matter what.

That said... You will need enough filtration to provide water movement throughout your tank... and you will want your filtration to do a certain amount of mechanical filtration for you. "How much" mechanical filtration you want your filters to do is up to you, remembering that whatever they do not do, you'll have to.

With a tank that size (impressive tank by the way), it's less about quantity and more about placement. With that in mind, decor means a lot. As if you have a lot of obstacles breaking the water flow across the bottom of the tank, you may want to add a few intermediate powerheads to help move waste. If its wide open space, you may want both intakes at one end, both returns at the other, creating a rolling flow across the bottom from one end to the other.

Consider the details, but in short, I'd expect the two Eheim canisters to be "enough", though you'll want to compensate with some additional water movement (powerheads or the like) to move physical waste.

Reactions: sneakhedkeepa

Rocksor

Blue Tier VIP