Need help identifying rays!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rayray414

Feeder Fish
Nov 20, 2020
Hey guys, need some help identifying these rays! Im new to keeping rays and want to be sure these are pure black diamonds and not just hybrids. I’m purchasing them as pure mid grade bds. I know it can be hard to tell, but any insight would be greatly appreciated ?46F0EDAD-19BB-40F7-8E9C-3ECA62C18597.jpeg5B500CF0-C0CF-4A0A-B235-F99B7CAD3623.jpeg

Deadeye

Bronze Tier VIP
MFK Member
Aug 31, 2020
No ray experience here, but from what I’ve seen they look pure.

Reactions: The Masked Shadow

SHARK13

Aimara
MFK Member
Oct 29, 2012
If species purity is what you want guaranteed and if you are questioning the purity of the animals I would avoid purchasing them and look for a better more reputable source. Unless they can prove to you without a doubt they are in fact bred from wild caught parents collected solely in Sao Felix, then they are not pure BD. Simple as that. Many ray flippers claim pure BD simply because that's what they are buying them as and also so they can charge more ultimately. If it looks too good to be true, it usually always is...

Orthopod

Dovii
MFK Member
Feb 22, 2010
Seattle
If species purity is what you want guaranteed and if you are questioning the purity of the animals I would avoid purchasing them and look for a better more reputable source. Unless they can prove to you without a doubt they are in fact bred from wild caught parents collected solely in Sao Felix, then they are not pure BD. Simple as that. Many ray flippers claim pure BD simply because that's what they are buying them as and also so they can charge more ultimately. If it looks too good to be true, it usually always is...