L27 Xingu Royal Pleco HELP PLZ!!

QueenFish

Feeder Fish
Mar 6, 2022
It's a long story but please bear with me I need as much help/advice anyone can give for my new baby L27 Xingu Royal Pleco. Yesterday I went to petco to purchase a pleco. I am new to the aquatic world and only had my small 10 gallon tank for a week now. My top dwellers are 3 guppies and 2 red tetras, I figured for just starting off I wanted something small and easy. That way I can really learn the basis of taking care of my first tank getting the hang of water testing/changing and proper feeding down before moving on to a bigger tank with bigger more bad ass fish. Petco sold to me to what I thought and they presumed as well was a "common" Pleco. After taking him home and falling in love with him and during further research I've come to realize in-fact that he is not a common Pleco but a L27 Xingu Pleco. Any advice on how to properly take care of him? Right now he is only 2'inches, obviously my little starter 10gallon tank will NOT be enough for him but how long do I have to save for 125gallon tank? I know he needs drift wood and can't be with any other plecos. I really fell in love with him and don't want to give him up so please any advice will be greatly appreciated. I want to make sure he lives a long healthy life and I don't stunt his growth in anyway. Thank you in advanced!! ?❤

1A20C173-FC8F-4272-ADAD-F51A17EA6353.jpeg

phreeflow

Goliath Tigerfish
MFK Member
Nov 19, 2007
SoCal
Great pickup for a “common pleco.” Feed them a good quality sinking pellet, some wood to rasp on, slices of sweet potato, zucchini, peas, cucumber, string beans, etc.

Honestly, high quality pellets should be the main diet. You’ll next to upsize their tank in the future but they grow slow

QueenFish

Feeder Fish
Mar 6, 2022
Great pickup for a “common pleco.” Feed them a good quality sinking pellet, some wood to rasp on, slices of sweet potato, zucchini, peas, cucumber, string beans, etc.