GoldFinger

Jack Dempsey
MFK Member
Apr 14, 2017
Ontario
Hey guys I would love some help figuring out how to build my sump. My tank will house an Asian Arowana with possible discus and a ray or eel. The tank is going to be 84x30x28 with a 3 foot external ghost overflow at the back coupled with Bean Animal drains and two returns. I would like to go as strait forward and easy on the maintenance if possible. Likely 3 chamber with socks, bio balls etc from what I have read but I'm a noob and pretty lost. Here are my questions:

1) how big of an aquarium do I need for the sump (would like to use a standard aquarium)
2) how to properly do the chambers and how many/how big each should be
3) what's a good pump for my tank and especially quiet
4) what media is best and in which order
5) where do all the drains and returns and emergency sump drain go (ie which chamber and how high off the bottom
6) how much water do I put in it
7) where to put heaters and pumps (have two 20" heaters and would like a backup pump)

I realize this looks like a lot but from what I have seen you guys are insanely knowledgeable with this stuff and it will hopefully be easy for you haha. Treat me like a baby and also I have 4ft x 7ft of room under my tank and almost unlimited space behind it.

Fish Tank Travis

Potamotrygon
MFK Member
Feb 28, 2016
Dayton, OH
For the tank, you will get the best results with a 125. It's long, slender and not too tall. However, a 75 should be ok, but I'd prefer not to see less than a 90.

For pumps, I strongly recommend the Jebao DCP pumps. They are super quiet and they have super fine adjustability, which really helps fine tune your overflow so it stays in siphon.

jaws7777

Probation Member
Probation Member
Mar 1, 2014
White house 1600 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington
Gonna get lots of opinion lol with the baffles... they really arent needed unless you have a purpose for them.

Media imo os all the same i use matrix some use plain old pumice stones.