Reverse osmosis and 3 channel doser

Rawhidesabi

Feeder Fish
MFK Member
Apr 29, 2016
North Olmsted, Ohio
Ok my buddy is getting rid of a lot of fish equipment and he is willing to cut me a deal on his ro unit and 3 channel doser as well. As i am just getting into the larger tanks and attempting to step out of the complete amateur department, would these be worth it to have for my Freshwater tank?

If i run the ro unit that means i have to remineralize the water, so either way i am going to have to buy a dechlorinator or a remineralizer. I know that i can possibly auto drip dechlorinator but is this possible with minerals as well?

Also since his doser is a 3 channel and has 3 seperate pumps, is it possible to have this setup in my sump "dosing" water out and "dosing" ro unit back into it? Or would i have to keep the big 55 gallon drum method rolling? I only ask that because if i could make that work i think that could reduce my water changes to 20-% weekly instead of 30-40%. Which would be nice since big tanks take a ton of water.

Now if i can go with all of my plans for this, would it actually be a good investment or would i just have really expensive water for my fish to poop in?

Also this will not be a planted tank other than maybe some controled algae in the sump and a few hardy plants in tank just to keep parameters in check. But i could go without plants easily.

Thank you ahead of time.

ragin_cajun

Silver Tier VIP
MFK Member
Sep 8, 2013
South Louisiana
You'd just have really expensive water. Now, if you wanted to create a low pH environment to keep species that come from environments like that in the wild, you might have to have RO water to start with, and then add things to drop the pH.