DIY Polycarbonate Sump

karpomatic

Piranha
MFK Member
Sep 2, 2006
Vineland, NJ
I'm going to take a crack at building my own sump for my 125 mostly South American 125 gallon aquarium. I have been using the one in the photo for 3 years now and it's okay but it was originally designed for saltwater and I'm hoping I can do better. The planned dimensions are 48" x 15" x 15", approximately 46 gallons. I'm building it out of 1/4" polycarbonate and sealing it with the Weldon 16. I am basing it on the attached photo I found online. I'm looking for constructive criticism and help only. It's planned for the water from the tank to pour into the socks on the left, flow into 2 or 3 Cer-Media bio filter blocks, then spill over and down thru the vertical section but with 3 levels instead of 2. Cotton batting at the top, volcanic rock, and/or bio-balls. I was thinking of adding another vertical section of 3 levels with more filtration and purigen as the top level. Next it will flow over into the heater section and finally the return pump on the far right.

One of my thoughts is, if I add another vertical section that would flow up then to the heaters, should the water flow under the divider to the pump or still go over spill into the pump section?

**I removed the logos from the sump diagram as it's just used as a reference. **

20200224_070203.jpg

20200522_135635.jpg

20200522_174421.jpg

Sump Filter.jpg

DN328

Potamotrygon
MFK Member
Aug 14, 2014
Fish Tank
I am a fan of having some chambers rather than one open box. I do think you may be going a bit far with chambers and varying types of mechanical to bio and back to mechanical and bio. For transparency this is from someone using a sump made for saltwater and I like the few chambers.

Personally, if using socks I Iike the drain going directly in rather than the overflowing into the sock. More likely for detritus loose in the chamber.